Check out the dates for all our upcoming conferences HERE

National Awards

2021 J. Scott Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award

In the spirit of its namesake, the J. Scott Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an AI professional who best demonstrates high ethical standards; contributed to the Appraisal Institute at the chapter, regional, national and/or international level(s); provided service to his or her community; and contributed to the appraisal profession. A minimum of 20 years of service is recommended for recipients of this award.

ArlenMills photo 2016 scaled e1635892686344

2021 J. Scott Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient
Arlen C. Mills, MAI, SRA

Arlen C. Mills has been a practicing appraiser for 65 years and an Appraisal Institute Designated Member since 1965. He has served in numerous positions with the Appraisal Institute at the chapter and national levels, including national External Affairs Committee and the national Vice Presidents’ Committee. He contributed to the development of the USPAP Guidelines and Appraiser Qualifications, as well as the original USPAP course.

He has worked as an Appraisal Institute instructor for decades and he has been selected on multiple occasions to write valuation courses and served as a consultant to the Appraisal Institute in developing curriculum. He has been a prolific writer throughout his career, contributing significantly to the Appraisal Institute’s body of published work.

He has served the Northern California Chapter as president and as a committee member for decades of Northern California conferences, seminars and events.

Read more about Arlen’s contributions to the real estate appraisal profession.

Outsanding Service Award

The Outstanding Service Award is presented to an AI professional who has contributed ideas, service hours and dedication to ensure a specific program or effort is implemented at either the chapter, region, national and/or international level(s). This AI professional must be instrumental to the success of the program or effort, which also must be far enough along to measure and provide proof of success. Additionally, the program or effort must be beneficial to chapters, regions, national, international, designated members, candidates, affiliates, practicing affiliates and/or the profession.

Timothy Runde 2019

2018 Outstanding Service Award Winner
Timothy “Tim” Runde, MAI

Tim Runde has been regional representative for the Appraisal Institute’s Northern California Chapter since 2017. He co-authored the book, “The Valuation of Green Commercial Real Estate,” published by the Appraisal Institute in 2017, and co-developed the course, “Practical Applications in Appraising Green Properties.” He has served as an instructor and reviewer for courses in the Appraisal Institute’s Valuation of Sustainable Buildings Professional Development program.

Volunteer of Distinction Award

The recipient of this award is chosen by the Appraisal Institute at the National level.  Any member in good standing who makes significant contributions to the appraisal profession, local community or the Appraisal Institute is eligible.  A panel of regional executive directors select the honorees each month for their respective regions. More information can be on the Appraisal Institute’s website here.

Norm Hulberg

2020 Volunteer of Distinction
Norm Hulberg, MAI

Norm has been a fixture on multiple conference committees, particularly the Spring Litigation Conference and Fall Conference where he has served as a presenter, moderator and chair numerous times. His company, Valbridge Property Advisors, also regularly sponsors these conferences. Norm was instrumental in securing the Stauss Scholarship Fund designed to provide scholarships to general / commercial appraisers seeking their MAI designation and has served on the committee to award those scholarships ever since (some 20 years). He also has served on the Nominating Committee. Finally, Norm is instrumental in promoting Chapter events by using his resources and connections. He is active and engaged at every Appraisal Institute function he attends and encourages participation and involvement for his employees.

Past Northern California Chapter VOD recipients 

2020 – Norm Hulberg, MAI

2019 – Nick Cadigan, MAI

2018 – Terry Larson, MAI

2018 – Paul Chandler, MAI

2018 – Melissa Downing, MAI

2017  – Neil Lefmann, MAI, SRA

2017 – Kurt Reitman, MAI, SRA

2016 – Kathryn Sturgis-Bright, MAI

2010 – Jeff Enright, MAI, AI-GRS